Pictogramme ODD 17 - Partenariats Pour La Réalisation des Objectifs

ODD 17 : PARTENARIATS POUR LA RÉALISATION DES OBJECTIFS 

 

RENFORCER LES MOYENS LIÉS À LA MISE EN OEUVRE ET À LA REVITALISATION DU PARTENARIAT MONDIAL POUR LE DÉVELOPPEMENT DURABLE

 

Contribution de Danone : Axe stratégique

PARTENARIATS POUR L'ODD 1

  • L’Action Tank Entreprise et Pauvreté : est un programme de l’école de commerce HEC co-créé par Emmanuel Faber, ancien PDG de Danone et Martin Hirsch, ancien Directeur d'Emmaüs France. Il a pour objectif de développer et de mettre en œuvre des modèles économiques innovants visant à contribuer à une économie plus inclusive, en France et dans d’autres pays en développement et de faciliter l'émergence de nouveaux modèles économiques basés sur les principes du social business (en savoir plus).
  • Les Fonds Livelihoods ont été créés par des entreprises privées pour générer des bénéfices sociaux, environnementaux et économiques en Afrique, Asie et Amérique latine. Livelihoods permet aux secteurs public et privé, à des ONG et des experts, tel que l’Agence Française de Développement, de travailler ensemble pour mettre en place des projets qui génèrent des bénéfices pour tous. Le fonds Livelihoods pour l’agriculture familiale a pour objectif d’améliorer la vie des petits agriculteurs et à promouvoir des pratiques agricoles plus respectueuses de l'environnement. (en savoir plus)
  • La Banque Interaméricaine de Développement, Danone, les Fonds Livelihoods et Danone pour l’Ecosystème ont crée une alliance pour développer des programmes innovants visant à stimuler la croissance économique en Amérique Latine et dans les Caraïbes. Etabli en 2017 pour 3 ans, ce partenariat stratégique global favorise la mise en place d’initiatives durables et inclusives dans cette région en s’appuyant sur la chaine de valeur de Danone et de ses partenaires, tout en bénéficiant aux populations locales et en préservant l’environnement (en savoir plus).

PARTENARIATS POUR L'ODD 2

  • La coalition One Planet Business for Biodiversity (OP2B) avec le World Business Council for Sustainable Development (WBCSD) a été lancée lors de l’Assemblée Générale des Nations Unies en septembre 2019 et a pour ambition de protéger et restaurer la biodiversité végétale et cultivée. Elle rassemble 20 entreprises à la fin 2019 (en savoir plus).
  • Danone a signé un protocole d’accord avec l’Organisation des Nations Unies pour l’alimentation et l’agriculture (FAO) afin d’améliorer les connaissances globales sur la nutrition, encourager une alimentation plus diversifiée et plus saine, et promouvoir une agriculture responsable.
  • Danone travaille avec de nombreux partenaires pour encourager une meilleure compréhension des pratiques agricoles qui peuvent aider la protection de la santé des sols. Par exemple, Danone North America travaille depuis 2018 avec des chercheurs du Centre sur la séquestration du carbone de l’Université Cornell, afin d’identifier des façons de régénérer les sols et d’augmenter leur teneur en carbone.
  • Danone travaille en collaboration avec l'Alliance Mondiale de la Recherche et la plateforme de l'Initiative pour l'Agriculture Durable (Sustainable Agriculture Initiative). Elle participe ainsi à des études scientifiques visant à analyser les méthodes employées pour réduire les émissions de gaz à effets de serre dans les exploitations laitières, pour toutes les parties prenantes du secteur.

PARTENARIATS POUR L'ODD 3

  • En 2019, à l’occasion des 100 ans de la création de son premier yaourt, Danone donne libre accès à sa collection historique de 1 800 souches.
  • En 2019, Danone a coopéré avec le Centre pour l'Innovation Microbienne (Center for Microbiome Innovation, CMI) de l'université de Californie à San Diego pour approfondir la compréhension du lien entre l'alimentation et l'intestin humain.
  • Depuis Juillet 2018, Danone assure un mandat de 2 ans pour la co-présidence de l’International Food and Beverage Alliance. Danone soutient l’engagement de l’Alliance à restreindre la publicité pour les enfants de moins de 12 ans aux produits répondant aux critères nutritionnels communs fondés sur des recommandations scientifiques. Les membres de l’alliance s’engagent également à ne pas faire de communications sur des produits alimentaires ou boissons dans les écoles primaires (en savoir plus).
  • Danone participe à l’initiative FReSH (Food Reform for Sustainability and Health) sous la direction du WBCSD (Conseil Mondial des affaires pour le développement durable) et de la fondation EAT Food. Cette initiative adresse les changements nécessaires dans les habitudes alimentaires tout en tenant compte des défis environnementaux.
  • Le Danone Institute International regroupe un réseau de 15 Instituts Danone (14 Instituts locaux et 1 international). Le Danone Institute International, avec le soutien de son réseau mondial, entreprend des activités spécifiques dans le domaine de la recherche nutritionnelle, de l'éducation et de la formation. Les Instituts Danone sont présents dans 16 pays et regroupent près de 200 experts à travers le monde (nutritionnistes, pédiatres, gastroentérologues, scientifiques, sociologues ...). Tous les Instituts Danone sont des organisations à but non lucratif, dédiées à des activités non commerciales (en savoir plus).
  • Danone collabore avec le groupe de travail "Healthier Lives", co-dirigé par Danone et Walmart, dans le but de superviser la création et l'exécution de plusieurs modèles collaboratifs. Ces modèles aideront à en apprendre plus sur la manière dont les revendeurs et les industriels peuvent créer ensemble des pratiques plus saines, et sur la façon dont les consommateurs peuvent vivre plus sainement. De plus, ce travail est mené en collaboration avec les autorités de santé publique (en savoir plus).

PARTENARIATS POUR L'ODD 5

  • En 2019, Danone a reçu le trophée GEEIS-SDG (Gender Equality Europeanand International Standard-Sustainable Development Goals) de la Fondation Arborus au siège des Nations Unies pour le projet “Social School for Women Empowerment” lancé avec le soutien du Fonds Danone pour l’Écosystème et qui se poursuit avec la filiale de Danone en Espagne et la Fundación Ana Bella. Le projet aide les femmes à s’extraire des violences domestiques et à se réinsérer sur le marché du travail en soutenant un programme de formation à la vente et à la nutrition.
  • En 2018, Danone a rejoint le réseau LEAD (Leading Executives Advancing Diversity) visant à attirer, retenir et faire évoluer les femmes dans le secteur de la vente au détail et des biens de consommation en Europe (en savoir plus).
  • HeForShe nomme Emmanuel Faber « Inaugural Thematic Champion » pour la politique parentale de Danone : HeforShe est une campagne mondiale de l’ONU Femmes lancée en 2014 ayant pour objectif d’engager les hommes pour contribuer à l’autonomisation des femmes. La campagne permet aux leaders de 3 secteurs différents d'être les champions IMPACT, c'est-à-dire leaders pays, entreprises et universités. En tant que Champion IMPACT, Danone s'engage à soutenir les parents, ainsi qu’augmenter la proportion des femmes dans les cadres dirigeants et la mobilisation des ressources pour promouvoir l'égalité des sexes (en savoir plus).
  • EVE: Danone a été le pionnier du concept en partenariat avec Crédit Agricole S.A., KPMG, L'Oréal, la SNCF, Orange et le groupe Caisse des Dépôts, mais les sessions sont ouvertes à toutes les entreprises intéressées par le sujet et par l'approche. Tous les partenaires partagent la même vision et ont choisi d'encourager les femmes à progresser au sein de leur organisation. En décembre 2017, Danone s’est associé à L'Oréal pour organiser le programme EVE Afrique, un évenement célébrant l'ascension des femmes dans les entreprises (en savoir plus).

PARTENARIATS POUR L'ODD 6

  • Danone et la Convention de Protection des Zones Humides (Convention of Wetlands Protection) - Ramsar sont partenaires depuis 20 ans pour sensibiliser à l'importance des zones humides et inciter à la gestion intégrée des prélèvements en eau au niveau local, par la mise en place d'outils spécifiques tel que l'outil SPRING. Deux sites de Danone ont été reconnus comme étant des zones nationales importantes par la convention Ramsar : Evian (France) et le site Villavicencio (Argentine).
  • Danone est partenaire du CEO Water Mandate (qui appartient au Pacte Mondial des Nations Unies), dans le but de contribuer à des initiatives pilotes et de faire converger les enjeux liés au climat et à l'eau.
  • Le Conservatoire de la Nature (Nature Conservancy) et Danone s'allient pour développer de nouveaux modèles de "Water Funds", dans le but de renforcer la gestion intégrée des prélèvements en eau au niveau local, à travers trois mécanismes : financement, gouvernance et implémentation.
  • Danone AQUA (Indonésie) est partenaire avec le "World Business Council for Sustainable Development" (WBCSD) pour supporter son engagement WASH (accès à l’eau, à l’assainissement et à l’hygiène) sur les lieux de travail.

PARTENARIATS POUR L'ODD 7

  • En décembre 2017, Danone a rejoint l'initiative RE100, une initiative mondiale et collaborative qui regroupe plus de 100 entreprises influentes engagées dans l'électricité 100% renouvelable. RE100 est une initiative du Climate Group en partenariat avec le Carbon Disclosure Project (en savoir plus).
  • Le Fonds Carbone Livelihoods (LCF) a été créé par 10 investisseurs en 2011 : Danone, Schneider Electric, Crédit Agricole S.A, Michelin, Hermès, SAP, Groupe Caisse des Dépôts, La Poste, Firmenich, Voyageurs du Monde.  LCF utilisent l’économie du carbone pour financer différents projets – restauration des écosystèmes, agroforesterie et énergie rurale – destinés à améliorer la sécurité alimentaire des communautés rurales et accroître les revenus des agriculteurs (en savoir plus).

PARTENARIATS POUR L'ODD 8

  • Lancée en 2018, l’initiative Business For Inclusive Growth (B4IG), conduite par Danone avec l’OCDE, en faveur de la croissance inclusive, a conduit au lancement d’une coalition d’entreprises internationales à l’occasion du G7 de Biarritz en août 2019. Les membres de cette coalition (40 membres à fin 2019) s’engagent à lutter contre les inégalités et à promouvoir une croissance inclusive au travers d’un manifeste d’engagements (en savoir plus).
  • En 2016, l’Union Internationale des Travailleurs de l’Alimentaire (UITA) et Danone ont signé un accord unique sur l’Emploi Durable et l’Accès aux Droits. Cet engagement commun se construit autour de la promotion de « l’emploi permanent et direct comme condition essentielle pour une activité économique durable ancrée dans le respect » (en savoir plus).
  • Danone et la Banque Interaméricaine de Développement se sont associées et ont uni leurs forces avec le Fonds Livelihoods et le Fonds Danone Ecosystème pour développer des programmes innovants visant à stimuler la croissance économique en Amérique Latine et dans les Caraïbes. Etabli pour 3 ans, ce partenariat stratégique global favorisera la mise en place d’initiatives durables et inclusives dans cette région en s’appuyant sur la chaîne de valeur de Danone et de ses partenaires, tout en bénéficiant aux populations locales et en préservant l’environnement (en savoir plus).
  • En 2016, Danone a rejoint l’initiative du Consumer Goods Forum (CGF) dont l’objectif est l’élimination du travail forcé de l’ensemble des chaînes d’approvisionnement (en savoir plus).
  • Danone est toujours un membre actif du mouvement HeForShe et du réseau LEAD (voir ODD 5).

PARTENARIATS POUR L'ODD 12

  • En 2019, Danone a été à l’initiative de la coalition One Planet Business for Biodiversity (OP2B) avec le World Business Council for Sustainable Development (WBCSD) qui a été lancée lors de l’Assemblée Générale des Nations Unies en septembre 2019 et qui a pour ambition de protéger et restaurer la biodiversité végétale et cultivée. Elle rassemble 20 entreprises à la fin 2019 (en savoir plus).
  • Depuis 2015, Danone s'est associée au B Lab® dans le but d'accélérer le processus pour que les grandes multinationales mesurent et contribuent à ce qui compte (en savoir plus).
  • Danone a participé au bêta-test du SDG Action Manager développé par le Pacte Mondial des Nations Unies (UNGC) et B Lab® (en savoir plus).
  • Depuis 2017, Danone a rejoint la Fondation Ellen MacArthur en tant que neuvième partenaire pour faire avancer l'économie circulaire (en savoir plus).
  • En 2017, Danone a noué un partenariat avec LOOP industries. LOOP a développé une technologie révolutionnaire qui permet le recyclage en boucle continue à grande échelle, transformant tous les types de déchets PET en plastique de haute qualité (en savoir plus).
  • Danone participe au système d’achat mondial LoopTM en partenariat avec Terracycle qui permet à ses consommateurs d’avoir accès à une variété de produits dans des emballages durables personnalisés qui sont collectés, nettoyés, remplis et réutilisés (en savoir plus).

PARTENARIATS POUR L'ODD 13

  • En 2019, Danone s’est engagée à définir des objectifs de réduction des émissions de gaz à effet de serre en ligne avec le scénario climatique 1,5°C, répondant à l’appel du Global Compact des Nations Unies, des initiatives Science-Based Targets et We Mean Business. Danone construit actuellement cette nouvelle trajectoire avec l’initiative SBT.
  • En 2018, Danone s’est associé à UNITAR (L’Institut des Nations Unies pour la formation et la recherche) pour développer, par l’intermédiaire de ‘UN CC :Learn’, un programme de formation sur les changements climatiques pour les salariés de Danone. Ce partenariat nourrit l'ambition globale de l'entreprise de donner à l’ensemble de ses collaborateurs les moyens de conduire un changement durable (en savoir plus).
  • Le Fonds Carbone Livelihoods : Danone a initié et invité d’autres entreprises à le rejoindre pour créer le fonds Livelihoods. Neuf entreprises, dont Danone, investissent par le biais de ce fonds dans de grands projets qui contribuent à la lutte contre le réchauffement climatique par la séquestration de grands volumes de carbone dans les forêts et les écosystèmes naturels, tout en améliorant les conditions de vie des communautés rurales (en savoir plus).
  • En joignant ses forces à l’initiative 4/1000, Danone a pour objectif d’étendre sa collaboration avec des experts, des ONG, des gouvernements et des entreprises privées. Lancée par le gouvernement français en 2015 durant la COP 21, 4/1000 est une plateforme internationale qui catalyse les collaborations entre différents acteurs sur les sujets relatifs à la santé des sols et à la séquestration du carbone dans les sols (en savoir plus).

PARTENARIATS POUR L'ODD 14

  • Fondation Ellen MacArthur : En 2017, Danone a annoncé le renforcement de son engagement pour une économie circulaire au travers d’un partenariat de 3 ans avec la Fondation Ellen MacArthur visant à accélérer la transition vers une économie circulaire. En devenant le neuvième partenaire mondial de la Fondation, Danone souhaite intégrer davantage les principes de l’économie circulaire dans ses opérations. Danone continue de travailler activement avec la Fondation EMF pour promouvoir l’économie circulaire.
  • En 2017, Danone a noué un partenariat avec LOOP industries. LOOP a développé une technologie révolutionnaire qui permet le recyclage en boucle continue à grande échelle, transformant tous les types de déchets PET en plastique de haute qualité (en savoir plus).
  • Evian participe à une mission de recherche avec The Ocean Cleanup, une start-up néerlandaise à but non lucratif qui a développé des technologies avancées évolutives pour aider à lutter contre les plastiques dans les océans. La filiale Aqua a rejoint en 2019 le projet pilote lancé en Indonésie.
  • En 2019, Danone s’est engagée à investir 15 millions de dollars sur 5 ans dans le fonds Circulate Capital pour le développement à grande échelle des infrastructures de recyclage et d’économie circulaire en Asie du Sud et en Asie du Sud-Est (en savoir plus).

PARTENARIATS POUR L'ODD 15

  • En 2019, Danone a été à l’initiative de la coalition One Planet Business for Biodiversity (OP2B) avec le World Business Council for Sustainable Development (WBCSD) qui a été lancée lors de l’Assemblée Générale des Nations Unies en septembre 2019 et qui a pour ambition de protéger et restaurer la biodiversité végétale et cultivée. Elle rassemble 20 entreprises à la fin 2019 (en savoir plus).
  • Danone a participé à la création de l’alliance “Farming For Generations” qui vise à identifier les meilleures pratiques et les innovations pour différents modèles agricoles, tailles d’exploitations et zones géographiques (en savoir plus).
  • En mai 2014, Danone a rejoint The Forest Trust (TFT), une organisation internationale à but non lucratif qui travaille avec les entreprises pour mettre sur le marché des produits respectueux de l'environnement et socialement responsables.
  • Depuis 2011, Danone est membre de la Roundtable on Sustainable Palm Oil (RSPO).
  • Danone est membre fondateur de SASPO (Support Asia For Sustainable Oil), créé en 2016.
  • Danone soutient les principes de "The Palm Oil Innovation Group" (POIG) et a signé la Charte pour les distributeurs et les industriels.  POIG rassemble des ONG de premier plan avec des entreprises productrices d'huile de palme, des marques et d'autres acteurs de la chaîne d'approvisionnement. L’objectif de POIG est de partager et de développer des pratiques exemplaires afin de garantir que l'huile de palme responsable devienne disponible sur le marché.
  • Danone est membre de la Roundtable on Responsible Soy et a signé le Cerrado Manifesto, un appel à l'action pour lutter contre la déforestation et la perte de végétation au Cerrado au Brésil.

PARTENARIATS POUR L'ODD 16

  • Danone est membre du Consumer Goods Forum et a signé la Résolution Sociale sur le Travail Forcé en 2016.
  • Danone soutient l'initiative Erosion Base et Profit Shifting (BEPS) pilotée par l'OCDE et y a participé activement en contribuant aux consultations d'entreprises.

SDG 17 Icon - Partnerships For The Goals

SDG 17: PARTNERSHIPS FOR THE GOALS

 

STRENGTHEN THE MEANS OF IMPLEMENTATION AND REVITALIZE THE GLOBAL PARTNERSHIPS FOR SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT  

 

Engagement of Danone: Major Focus

PARTNERSHIPS SDG 1

  • Poverty & Entreprise Action Tank: is a program in HEC Business School co-created by Emmanuel Faber, CEO of Danone and Martin Hirsch, former head of Emmaüs France, that acts to develop and implement innovative economic models aiming at contributing to a more inclusive economy, in France, other developed countries as well as in developing countries and facilitating the emergence of new economic models based on the principles of social business (learn more).
  • The Livelihoods funds have been created by private companies to generate social, environmental and economic impact in Africa, Asia and Latin America. Livelihoods funds link private companies, NGOs, public institutions and experts such as the French Development Agency (AFD). It builds public-private coalitions to develop projects generating value for all. The Livelihoods Family Farming Fund aims at improving the lives of smallholders and promoting farming practices which are more respectful of the environment (learn more).
  • Danone and the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) have partnered and joined their forces with Livelihoods Funds and the Danone Ecosystem Fund to develop disruptive business solutions that boost economic growth in the Latin America and Caribbean region. The three-year strategic partnership signed in 2017 promotes sustainable, inclusive development initiatives in the region harnessing Danone’s food chain as well as with implementing partners, Livelihoods Funds and the Danone Ecosystem Fund, while also empowering local communities, and protecting the environment (learn more).

PARTNERSHIPS SDG 2

  • Danone spearheaded the One Planet Business for Biodiversity (OP2B) coalition with the World Business Council for Sustainable Development (WBCSD) which was launched at the UN General Assembly in September 2019 and aims to protect and restore cultivated and natural biodiversity. Twenty companies had signed on by the end of 2019 (learn more).
  • Danone has signed an agreement with the UN’s Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) to improve global nutrition, encourage more diverse and healthier diets, and promote responsible farming.
  • Danone works with numerous partners to promote a better unders­tanding of agricultural practices that help protect soil health. For example, since 2018 Danone North America has worked with researchers from Cornell University’s carbon sequestration cen­ter in order to identify ways to regenerate soils and enhance their carbon content.
  • Danone is working in collaboration with the Global Research Alliance and the Sustainable Agriculture Initiative (SAI) platform, to participate in studies looking to scientifically analyze the methods used to reduce greenhouse gas emissions in dairy farms, for all the sector’s stakeholders.

PARTNERSHIPS SDG 3

 

  • In 2019, Danone opened the access to its historical collection of 1,800 strains marking 100 years since the creation of its first yogurt. 
  • In 2019, Danone has cooperated with the University of California San Diego Center for Microbiome Innovation (CMI) to advance the understanding of the connection between the diet and human gut.  
  • Starting from July 2018, Danone is and will be co-chairing the International Food and Beverage Alliance for a 2-year mandate. Danone supports the alliance’s commitment to restrict advertising directed towards children under 12 only to products meeting common nutrition criteria based on scientifically recognized guidelines. Members also undertake not to advertize food products or drinks in primary schools (learn more).
  • Danone participates in the Food Reform for Sustainability and Health (FreSH) led by the WBCSD (World Business Council for Sustainable Development) and the EAT Food Foundation. This initiative tackle both changes needed in dietary habits while taking into account environmental challenges.
  • The Danone Institute International gathers a network of 15 Danone Institutes (14 local Institutes and 1 International). The Danone Institute International, with the support of its global network, undertake specific activities in the field of nutrition research, education and training. The Danone Institutes are present in 16 countries and gather around 200 experts around the world (nutritionists, pediatricians, gastroenterologists, scientists, sociologists…). All Danone Institutes are non-profit organizations, dedicated to non-commercial activities (learn more).
  • The Collaboration for Healthier Lives working group, co-chaired by Danone and Walmart, oversees the design and execution of several collaborative models to help us learn more about how retailers and manufacturers can jointly create healthier practices and customers live healthier, as well as work collaboratively with public health authorities (learn more).

PARTNERSHIPS SDG 5

  • In 2019, Danone received the GEEIS-SDG (Gender Equality European and International Standard-Sustainable Development Goals) trophy of the Arborus Foundation at the United Nations headquarters for the "Social School for Women Empowerment” project launched with the support of the Danone Ecosystem Fund and that is continuing with Danone Spain and Fundación Ana Bella. The project helps women escape domestic violence and rejoin the labor force by supporting a sales and nutrition training program.
  • In 2018, Danone joined the LEAD Network (Leading Executives Advancing Diversity) whose aim is to attract, retain and advance women in retail and consumer goods industry in Europe (learn more).
  • HeForShe names Danone "Inaugural Thematic Champion" for parental policy: HeForShe is a global UN Women campaign launched in 2014 that aims at empowering women with the support of men. The campaign empowers leaders from 3 different sectors as IMPACT champions, i.e., country, corporate and university leaders. As an IMPACT Champion, Danone is committed to parental support, with a secondary focus on increasing the representation of women in senior leadership and mobilizing resources to promote gender equality. In recognition of the expected impact of this gender equality policy, Danone CEO Emmanuel Faber has been named “Inaugural Thematic Champion” by the UN Women HeForShe movement (learn more).
  • EVE: Danone pioneered the concept in partnership with Crédit Agricole S.A., KPMG, L’Oréal, SNCF, Orange and Caisse des Dépôts Group, but sessions are open to any company interested in the issue and the approach. All partners share the same vision, and have chosen to encourage women to advance within their organization.Danone has co-partnered with L’Oréal to organize EVE Program in Africa in December 2017 an event to celebrate the rising of women in the  companies (learn more).

PARTNERSHIPS SDG 6

  • Danone and the Convention of Wetlands Protection - Ramsar have been partnering for 20 years raising awareness on the importance of wetlands and supporting intergrated watershed management at the local level with the design of specific tools as the SPRING tool. Two Danone's sites have been recognized of national importance by the Ramsar Convention: Evian (France) and The Villavicencio site (Argentina).
  • Danone is partnering with the CEO Water Mandate (part of United Nations Global Compact) in order to pilot context-based targets initiatives and to synergize water and climate externalities.
  • The Nature Conservancy and Danone are partnering to develop new water fund models aiming to strenghten integrated watershed management at the local level through 3 mechanisms: financing, governance and implementing ones.
  • Danone AQUA (Indonesia) is partnering with World Business Council for Sustainable Development to support its efforts on Water Access, Sanitation and Hygiene (WASH) at workplace among others.

PARTNERSHIPS SDG 7

  • In December 2017, Danone joined the RE100 initiative, a global and collaborative initiative that includes more than 100 influential companies committed to 100% renewable electricity. RE100 is an initiative of the Climate Group in partnership with Carbon Disclosure Project (learn more).
  • The Livelihoods Carbon Fund (LCF) was launched in 2011 by 10 investors: Danone, Schneider Electric, Crédit Agricole S.A, Michelin, Hermès, SAP, Groupe Caisse des Dépôts, La Poste, Firmenich, Voyageurs du Monde. LCF leverages the carbon economy to finance ecosystem restoration, agroforestry and rural energy projects to improve food security for rural communities and increase farmers’ revenues (learn more).

PARTNERSHIPS SDG 8

  • Started in 2018, the Business for Inclusive Growth (B4IG) initiative led by Danone with the OECD to promote inclusive growth resulted in the launch of a coalition of international companies at the G7 in Biarritz in August 2019. The members of this coalition (40 at the end of 2019) signed a pledge to demonstrate their commitment to fighting inequalities and promoting inclusive growth (learn more).
  • In 2016, the IUF and Danone signed a ground-breaking Agreement on Sustainable Employment and Access to Rights built around a joint commitment to promote "permanent, direct employment as an essential foundation for a sustainable business anchored in respect (learn more).
  • Danone and the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) have partnered and joined their forces with Livelihoods Funds and the Danone Ecosystem Fund to develop disruptive business solutions that boost economic growth in the Latin America and Caribbean region. The three-year strategic partnership will promote sustainable, inclusive development initiatives in the region harnessing Danone’s value chain as well as with implementing partners, Livelihoods Funds and the Danone Ecosystem Fund, while also empowering local communities, and protecting the environment (learn more).
  • In 2016, Danone joined the Consumer Goods Forum (CGF) initiative aimed at eliminating forced labor in global supply chains (learn more).
  • Danone is an active member of the HeForShe movement and LEAD network (see SDG 5 section).

PARTNERSHIPS SDG 12

  • Danone spearheaded the One Planet Business for Biodiversity (OP2B) coalition with the World Business Council for Sustainable Development (WBCSD) which was launched at the UN General Assembly in September 2019 and aims to protect and restore cultivated and natural biodiversity. Twenty companies had signed on by the end of 2019 (learn more).
  • Since 2015, Danone partnered with B Lab® with an aim to accelerate the process for large, publicly listed multinationals to measure and contribute to what matters (learn more).
  • Danone participated in the beta-testing of the SDG Action Manager which was developed by the United Nation Global Compact (UNGC) and Blab® (learn more).
  • In January 2017, Danone has joined the Ellen MacArthur Foundation as ninth Global Partner to advance circular economy (learn more).
  • In 2017, Danone forged a partnership with LOOP Industries. LOOP has developed a ground-breaking technology that enables a continuous loop for recycling at large scale, transforming all types of PET waste into high quality plastic (learn more).
  • Danone participates in the global purchasing system LoopTM in partnership with Terracycle, providing consumers with access to a variety of products in personalized, sustainable packaging that are collected, cleaned, filled and reused (learn more).

PARTNERSHIPS SDG 13

  • In 2019, Danone pledged to define targets for reducing greenhouse gas emissions in line with a 1.5°Celsius climate scenario, heeding the call of the UN Global Compact and initiatives of Science-Based Targets and We Mean Business. Danone is currently working on these new reduction targets with the SBT initiative.
  • In 2018, Danone partnered with UNITAR to develop through 'UN CC:Learn' a learning program on climate change for Danone employees. This partnership nourishes the global ambition of the company to empower its teams so that they can drive sustainable change (learn more).
  • The Livelihoods Carbon Fund: Danone initiated and invited other companies to establish the Livelihoods Fund which brings together Danone with nine companies to invest in large projects that contribute to mitigating climate change by sequestering large volumes of carbon in forests and natural ecosystems, and improving the well-being of local populations (learn more).
  • By joining forces with '4 per 1000', Danone aims to broaden these efforts and expand collaboration with experts, NGOs, governments and private companies. Launched by the French government in 2015, during the COP21, '4 per 1000' is an international platform to catalyze collaboration on soil health and soil carbon sequestration among different stakeholders (learn more).

PARTNERSHIPS SDG 14

  • Ellen MacArthur Foundation : In 2017, Danone announced it was strengthening its commitment to a circular economy through a 3 year partnership that aimed at accelerating the transition to a circular economy. By becoming the Foundation’s ninth partner, Danone aims to integrate circular economy principles into its operations to an even greater extent. We continue to work actively with the EMF to promote the circular economy (learn more).
  • In 2017, Danone forged a partnership with LOOP Industries. LOOP has developed a ground-breaking technology that enables a continuous loop for recycling at large scale, transforming all types of PET waste into high quality plastic (learn more).
  • Evian participates in a research mission with The Ocean Cleanup, a Dutch non-profit start up that has developed scalable advanced technologies to help rid the oceans of plastic. In 2019, the Aqua subsidiary joined the pilot project launched in Indonesia.
  • In 2019, Danone committed to investing USD 15 million over five years in the Circulate Capital fund for the large-scale development of recycling and circular economy infrastructure in Southern and South-East Asia (learn more).

PARTNERSHIPS SDG 15

  • Danone spearheaded the One Planet Business for Biodiversity (OP2B) coalition with the World Business Council for Sustainable Development (WBCSD) which was launched at the UN General Assembly in September 2019 and aims to protect and restore cultivated and natural biodiversity. Twenty companies had signed on by the end of 2019 (learn more).
  • Danone is leading the global business coalition “Farming for Generations” which aims to identify best practices and innovations across different farming models, farm sizes and geographies (learn more).
  • In May 2014, Danone joined The Forest Trust (TFT), an international non-profit organization that works with businesses to place environmentally and socially responsible products on the market.
  • Danone has been member of Roundtable on Sustainable Palm Oil (RSPO) since 2011.
  • Danone is a founding member of the Support Asia For Sustainable Palm Oil (SASPO), created in 2016.
  • Danone supports the principles of "The Palm Oil Innovation Group" (POIG) and signed-up the Charter for Retailers and Manufacturers. POIG brings together leading NGOs with palm oil producing companies, brands and other actors in the supply chain to share and develop leading practices to ensure that responsible palm oil becomes available in the market place.
  • Danone is a member of the Roundtable on Responsible Soy and has signed the Cerrado Manifesto, a call for action to stop deforestation and vegetation loss in Brazil's Cerrado.     

PARTNERSHIPS SDG 16

  • Danone is member of the Consumer Goods Forum and signed the Social Resolution on Forced Labour in 2016 (learn more).
  • Danone supports the OECD led Base Erosion and Profit Shifting initiative (BEPS) and has contributed to it actively by providing input for business consultations.